Both Taunton Deane Liberal Democrats and Bridgwater & West Somerset Liberal Democrats are delighted to have succeeded on the 2nd May elections in taking control of the new Somerset West & Taunton authority.

The new authority spans from Exmoor across to Burrowbridge and down as far as Wellington.

The Liberal Democrats stormed the ballot boxes in places from Minehead and Dunster, to Trull and Hatch Beauchamp, picking up 30 out of a possible 59 seats.

The rest of the Council is made of up of 14 independents, 10 Conservatives, 3 Labour and 2 Greens.

By Friday (3rd May), the new Liberal Democrat group met to discuss crucial roles and picked Councillor Federica Smith-Roberts and Councillor Benet Allen as Leader and Deputy Leader of the new Council respectively, reflecting views from Taunton Deane and West Somerset.

They have also chosen Councillor Hazel Prior-Sankey has been chosen as Chair of the Council and Councillor Fran Smith will be nominated in the new role of Mayor of Taunton having been the last Deputy Mayor of Taunton Deane.

Further positions will be announced later this week.

Scott Berry, who chaired the Lib Dem campaign to take the control of the Council thanked the hard work of candidates, staff, volunteers and supporters for making this all possible,


Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.